Fried Chicken

For each person comfort food is a different thing. My comfort food varies, based on the day I have had or the situation I am in. One such comfort food which I like eating in the night while I have a relaxing evening with my computer is Fried Chicken.

IMG_20140805_135547

When a person hear’s Fried Chicken, the first thing that comes to mind is KFC or Kentucky Fried Chicken. However, my house is very far away from the closest KFC and they refuse to deliver. Which means that every time I want Fried Chicken, I need to make it myself.

The fried chicken from KFC is quite different from the fried chicken I make at home. not only does it have a corn flakes crust, but I serve it with a garlic mayo which gives it that twist.

For the Fried Chicken:

  • Corn flakes, crushed
  • An Egg, beaten
  • Flour
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Oil for frying
  • Boneless Chicken, cut into flat square pieces

In a bowl whisk together the egg, salt and pepper. Set it aside.

In a plate put the flour and in another place put the crushed corn flakes.

Lay the bowl and plates out so that they are in the order of flour-egg-cornflakes.

Pour your oil in a pan and heat it.

While the oil heats, cover your chicken completely in flour. Then dunk it in the egg. And now cover the chicken completely in corn flakes.

Once the oil is hot place the chicken and lid your pan and leave on low heat. After a few minutes, check to see if the chicken showing through the corn flakes has turned white, and the corn flakes have darkened. Flip and leave again, checking repeatedly until cooked.

For the Garlic Mayo:

I don’t make my own Mayo so I just us some store ought Mayo, and mix some minced garlic into it until you achieve the desired taste.

Serve the chicken while still hot with a generous serving of Mayo.

Leave a Reply

