London Food Scenes

While I was in London, my main aim was to eat, and eat I did. I hit various restaurants all over the city, and tried food from different places. Unfortunately a lot of the times I was so caught up in the moment that I didn’t photograph everything I ate. I have however mentioned places to try even if I don’t have photographic evidence.

Jamie’s Italian Covent Garden – Like I said when I wrote about eating at Heston’s, Jamie Oliver is also one of my favorites. Its one of the first places I ate in while in London. Even though I wanted to try different things, I was on a budget. We decided to just share a bunch of different things instead of ordering individual dishes for each other.

We started with an Antipasti Plank. We ordered Cured Meats – Fennel salami, pistachio mortadella, prosciutto & schiacciata piccante served with mini buffalo mozzarella, pecorino & chilli jam, a selection of pickles, olives & crunchy vegetable slaw.

Cured Meats - Fennel salami, pistachio mortadella, prosciutto & schiacciata piccante served with mini buffalo mozzarella, pecorino & chilli jam, a selection of pickles, olives & crunchy vegetable slaw
Cured Meats – Fennel salami, pistachio mortadella, prosciutto & schiacciata piccante served with mini buffalo mozzarella, pecorino & chilli jam, a selection of pickles, olives & crunchy vegetable slaw

Next we had some Crab Arancini – Fried balls of crab risotto with a pickled fennel, bean & mint salad & yuzu lime & yoghurt dressing.

Crab Arancini -Fried balls of crab risotto with a pickled fennel, bean & mint salad & yuzu lime & yoghurt dressing
Crab Arancini -Fried balls of crab risotto with a pickled fennel, bean & mint salad & yuzu lime & yoghurt dressing

As a main, we had a Tagliatelle Bolognese – Gennaro’s original pork & beef Bolognese recipe, slow-cooked & served with herby breadcrumbs & Parmesan.

Tagliatelle Bolognese -Gennaro’s original pork & beef Bolognese recipe, slow-cooked & served with herby breadcrumbs & Parmesan
Tagliatelle Bolognese – Gennaro’s original pork & beef Bolognese recipe, slow-cooked & served with herby breadcrumbs & Parmesan

The best was dessert. We had a Chocolate, Pear & Honeycomb Pavlova.

Chocolate, Pear & Honeycomb Pavlova
Chocolate, Pear & Honeycomb Pavlova

Bagel at Leicester Square – On a shopping day, the perfect snack is a Cream Cheese and Smoked Salmon Bagel. I picked one up opposite the Leicester Square Tube station. Unfortunately I can’t remember the name of the cafe. All I know is its opposite the station.

Dinner By Heston

Primrose Hill – Even though its technically not a place you can get food. I feel it’s the perfect place for a picnic. It also has an amazing view of the city. We took some bread, cream cheese, croissants and spent the afternoon on the grass.

Primrose Hill
Primrose Hill

Camden Market – During the day, Camden has an amazing Food Market. You get a variety of different kinds of food. We picked up sushi, pork bun, pizza and there is even a variety of healthy smoothies available.

Pork Bun
Pork Bun

Chin Chin Labs, Camden It’s known for its nitrogen ice cream. You can choose your flavour and they make it for you right there. They have fun flavours like Mango & Green Tea Marshmallow. I had the classic Pondicherry Vanilla.

Pondicherry Vanilla
Pondicherry Vanilla
2 Comments Add yours

  1. itusedtobemiami says:

    omg i love camden so much; did you get a chance to try the nutella filled churros?

    Like

    1. No 😦 where in camden do you get it?

      Like

Leave a Reply

