Pork and Beef Burger with Hassleback Potatoes and Slaw

Something perfect to make at a barbecue this summer, an amazing burger with some hassleback potatoes and slaw. It’s really simple to put together and make. I did it for a bunch of people coming over on the weekend, and it was really simple. I didn’t put each burger together and serve, but instead served everything separately and let them out it together.

For the patties:

  • Pork mince
  • Beef mince
  • Garlic, finely chopped
  • Onion, finely chopped
  • Paprika
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Brown Sugar

burger1burger2burger3

For the Potatoes:

  • Potatoes
  • Parsley
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Olive oil

For the slaw:

  • Grated carrot
  • Finely chopped cabbage
  • Mustard
  • Mayonnaise

I started off by making the patty. Just mix all the ingredients together making sure to get all the meat from the bottom of the bowl. To check the flavour, I made a small little patty and fried that up. If the taste is not what you want, adjust it adding as much or as little as you think it needs.

burger4

For the potatoes, I cut off one side a little bit, just enough to give the potato a flat surface to stay up on. Then I cut about 3/4 of the way down, so that it’s still somewhat intact.

 

I basted the potatoes with some salt, pepper and chopped parsley mixed in olive oil. They bake at 220C for a little over an hour. I pulled them out every 20 minutes, to cover them in some more oil.

burger7burger8

The slaw is the simplest thing to make, just mix all the ingredients together in a bowl, with any other flavouring you may want. I just added some seasoning and kept it simple.

While traditionally these burgers would be done on a barbecue, I don’t have one and so kept it simple by frying the patties in a pan.

burger9burger10

Moving onto assembling the burger, this one is mine, everyone did theirs differently. I smeared the bread with some mayo, then placed the patty and some crisp bacon on top. I also put some ketchup, pickles and caremalized onions.

burger11burger13

On the side, I had a potato, some slaw and some more pickles.

burger14burger15.jpg

Leave a Reply

