Tuna Salad on Bread – Hostel Life

So as you’ll may or may not know, I’m studying Culinary Arts in Aurangabad and live in a hostel. We don’t have a kitchen, kitchenette, fridge or stove. All we have is a hot/cold water dispenser and a microwave. So thats what we live with, and what we’ve learned to cook using. There is a supermarket a couple of minutes away, so if I ever need fresh veg, its only a hop, skip and a jump away.

This recipe does not need the application of heat, so no microwave required.

For the Salad: 

  • Canned tuna
  • Mayonnaise
  • Carrots
  • Onions
  • Coriander
  • Lemons
  • Green Chillies
  • Cheese
  • Bread
  • Butter

I started off by draining away the brine solution into another bowl. The brine from the canned tuna helps act as a dressing for the salad, the liquid becomes a lot easier since its thinner than mayonnaise.

img_8119

I squirted some of the mayonnaise into the brine and mixed it around really well so that it would break down. If you’re in a hostel and want mayo, but cant keep it in the fridge, Fun Foods has a small pouch for 30 bucks which lasts you a while.

img_8124

I cut up the carrots and onions quite fine, as well as the chillies. Notice that my chopping board is the lid of the bowl I’m using. #HostelLife

img_8127

For the coriander, I washed off a whole bunch and rough chopped it. Also notice that coriander is kept on top of my books #HostelLife

img_8135

Add the veg in and mix it around well. Add in some lemon juice and a little salt if you feel the need. Then pour in the dressing you made and toss.

img_8137

We just broke apart the cheese into the salad, since I lost my grater.

img_8144

One way to serve it is eating it plain or just lather bread in butter and cover the slice with the salad.

To get into the groove of this whole thing, I’ve decided to create a hashtag, #HostelLife and am planning to make this whole hostel life thing a series, so any interesting foodie stuff, I eat, make or do at college I’ll add into the series. Sound good?

img_8141

img_8149

img_8146

img_8147

 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

