Chicken and Quinoa Salad with Tomato Jam

I’m sorry I know its a been a long while since I last posted, but I really just haven’t had the time or the motivation. Sorry!

Zaatar is something I absolutely love. You don’t get it very easily in India, and the flavours are quite different. I have a friend who went to Dubai last year and bought me some and since then I’ve been using it in everything! This is a recipe I tried a long time ago (same time as my taco grilled chicken). I just never managed to write-up the post until now. Quinoa salads are all the rage right now or they have been for a few years. Chicken in a quinoa salad all flavoured with some wonderful tomato jam sounds absolutely mouth-watering. The salad and the grilled chicken together make a great, healthy and filling meal.

For the salad:

  • Chicken, diced
  • Garlic, fine chopped 
  • Zaatar
  • Lemon juice
  • Honey
  • Pepper
  • Salad leaves
  • Tomato Jam
  • Quinoa, cooked

Start off by marinating the chicken and setting it aside.

quinoas (1)

If you don’t already have some tomato jam, make it now. You can find my recipe here.

Since the tomato jam doesn’t have enough liquid to act as a dressing, I would suggest making a simple vinaigrette. In a bowl mix together some lime juice, olive oil, salt, pepper and honey to make your dressing.

quinoas (3)

In a pan heat some olive oil and add in the garlic and marinated chicken.

quinoas-2

Once the chicken is cooked, add in the quinoa and tomato jam. Mix everything in well to ensure the flavour of the tomato jam spreads.

In a separate bowl, tear up the lettuce and other salad leaves and pour the dressing over it.

Add the contents of the pan over the lettuce and toss the salad.

quinoas (6)quinoas (9)quinoas (8)quinoas (7)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

